Jon Ashton became the 17th recipient of the Supporters Association Player of the Year receiving his trophy from SA Chairman Lloyd Briscoe in the Broadhall Suite after the final league match of the season. He went on to achieve the double picking up the SA sponsored Players’ Player award, just reward after a faultless season in Boro’s back four.

The increase in SA membership was born out in the voting with five players drawing 74% of the vote. Such is the strength of the squad past winners Scott Laird and Ronnie Henry plus fans favourite Michael Bostwick were left trailing although in good company with new arrivals Byron Harrison and Darius Charles who between them picked up a respectable share of the votes.

At the final count both online and the ballot boxes posted skipper Mark Roberts as 5th with Chris Day in 4th and a 3,2 1 of John Mousinho (16%), Lawrie Wilson (17%) and Jon Ashton (41%).

As usual the Spoof awards preceded the main event and true to form our dressing room mole dug deeper then ever to expose the little foibles that make certain members of the squad just that bit……… different. Quality before quantity this time round as six “lucky” players were exposed for special awards again presented by Lloyd Briscoe.

John Mousinho was “picked out” for his nasal presence (he took it so well), Ashley Bayes was the “Peter Pan” of the dressing room, Ronnie Henry or “Mr Stevenage” due to his penchant for wearing club kit virtually 24/7, although for a moment we almost had Darius Charles claiming it (can there really be two players who like their Boro kit so much?). Peter Winn is your man if you need a Taxi (make sure you book under the name of Chris Day and he’ll be round), Scott Laird won the “Glass Jaw” award after scoring top marks for his You Tube hits post Newcastle match. And finally one of the more bizarre awards even by our standards as Chris Beardsley was acknowledged for having the best looking sister, sadly we didn’t even record the young ladies name.

Our thanks go to Andy Green for his MC duties and to the staff at the Football Club and in the Broadhall Suite for helping with arrangements.

Here’s to next year.